Friday’s Vintage Car Day!

The '68 Riv, in all its 4,800 pounds of porcine, scuffed, used-up glory

Just owning a vintage car and looking at it in the garage isn’t enough for me. You’ve got to drive it, and you’ve got to drive it just like you’d drive your regular car.

With that in mind, I took my ’68 Buick Riviera from my new home in Holliston to my office in Waltham today, as I’m planning on doing most Fridays, at least until the weather gets lousy.

Driving a vintage car on the weekend is great, but when you put it through its paces on a weekday, it really stands out as completely anachronistic in a sea of bland Honda Accords and Toyota Camrys. People who don’t give a hoot about cars stop walking and stare as 4,800 pounds of American steel rolls by.

Admittedly, this old shitbox isn’t much of a show car. It’s got battle scars on every panel, the driver’s seat is falling apart, and at the car wash this morning, I discovered why it’s wet inside the trunk: The rear window is leaking like a sieve. I hope that when I cut it out and reseal it over the winter, I’m not going to find a whole lot of rust when I remove the trim.

Despite its less-than-perfect appearance, though, when I pulled up to the pumps at the Sunoco station this morning, three people wanted to talk to me about that old hulk.

Nice way to start a Friday.

So what’d you drive to work today?

About Craig Fitzgerald

Craig Fitzgerald is an automotive writer, photographer and editor with credits in Hemmings Motor New, the Boston Globe, Forbes, the Washington Post, Esquire and BoldRide.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday’s Vintage Car Day!

  1. Dan says:

    Nice green plate. Still dreading visiting the MA DMV?

  2. yankeedriver says:

    I am, Dan, but the real reason is that there just haven’t been enough hours in the day to get all this crap done.

    BTW, my new Hagerty agent? S.Lopez.

Leave a Reply

